Project description

The project is intended to create a targeted, spatial and functional link between science, business, research and teaching in order to work on joint cooperation projects that will have an impact far beyond the city limits and the region.

The heart of the development is to be the partial preservation of the "Alte Richthalle" of the former railroad repair works. As the nucleus of the quarter, it is to be a lively place also in the evening hours, supplemented, for example, by gastronomy, leisure/events and perhaps student housing.

Another building block of the development is the expansion of the Wedau sports park with approx. 3.4 ha as well as the creation of attractive open and green spaces. Overall, this is intended to create a sustainable working, learning and leisure environment in the new urban technology quarter and, in conjunction with the 6-Seen-Wedau development area, to create a lively and smart urban district.

The new urban planning framework by the Frankfurt office AS+P Albert Speer + Partner will be on the agenda of the Duisburg City Council in September, where it is expected to be approved. The Wedau-Nord site is immediately adjacent to the north of the site of the 6-Seen-Wedau urban development project. It has been owned by GEBAG since 2019, and since the beginning of the year the site has belonged to its subsidiary GEBAG Flächenentwicklungsgesellschaft mbH (GEBAG FE), which is also developing the site.

FRAMEWORK PLAN FOR WEDAU-NORTH IS TO BE ADOPTED

The new use of the Wedau-Nord site is approaching another milestone: in September, the new urban development framework planning will be on ...

RENOVATION OF THE CHIMNEY IN WEDAU-NORD COMPLETED

GEBAG has completed the refurbishment of the listed Schornstein chimney on the Wedau-Nord development site. With the work ...

DUISBURG ON THE WAY TO BECOMING A TECHNOLOGY HOTBED

The City of Duisburg, the University of Duisburg-Essen and GEBAG Flächenentwicklung mbH (GEBAG FE) will jointly ...

Rahmenplan für Wedau-Nord soll beschlossen werden

Die neue Nutzung der Fläche Wedau-Nord nähert sich einem weiteren Meilenstein: Im September steht die neue städtebauliche Rahmenplanung auf der Tagesordnung im Rat der Stadt Duisburg. Die neue Rahmenplanung stammt vom Frankfurter Büro AS+P Albert Speer + Partner. Sie folgt auf die ursprünglich für die Fläche beschlossene Rahmenplanung des Dortmunder Büros plan lokal.

Projektbeschreibung

Mit dem Projekt soll eine zielgerichtete, räumliche und funktionale Verknüpfung von Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft, Forschung und Lehre entstehen, um in gemeinsamen Kooperationsprojekten zu arbeiten, welche Strahlkraft weit über die Stadtgrenzen und Region heraus entwickeln.

Herzstück der Entwicklung soll der teilweise Erhalt der „Alten Richthalle“ des ehemaligen Bahnausbesserungswerkes werden. Als Nukleus des Quartiers soll diese ein lebendiger Ort auch in den Abendstunden sein, ergänzt zum Beispiel um Gastronomie, Freizeit/ Veranstaltung und vielleicht studentischem Wohnen.

Ein weiterer Baustein der Entwicklung ist die Erweiterung des Sportpark Wedau mit ca. 3,4 ha sowie die Schaffung von attraktiven Frei- und Grünflächen.  So soll insgesamt ein zukunftsfähiges Arbeits-, Lern und Freizeitumfeld in dem neuen urbanen Technologie Quartier entstehen und in Verbindung mit der Entwicklungsfläche 6-Seen-Wedau ein lebendiger und smarter Stadtteil geschaffen werden.

Die neue städtebauliche Rahmenplanung vom Frankfurter Büro AS+P Albert Speer + Partner steht im September auf der Tagesordnung im Rat der Stadt Duisburg und soll dort beschlossen werden. Die Fläche Wedau-Nord schließt sich unmittelbar nördlich an die Fläche des Städtebauprojekts 6-Seen-Wedau an. Sie befindet sich seit 2019 im Besitz der GEBAG, seit Beginn des Jahres gehört das Grundstück deren Tochtergesellschaft GEBAG Flächenentwicklungsgesellschaft mbH (GEBAG FE), die das Gelände auch entwickelt.